Mailfornet

ChatGPT Dots vs Meta Muse vs Grok Bot: what each one really costs, and who can get it

ChatGPT Dots vs Meta Muse vs Grok Bot comes down to three questions: can you get it in your country, what does it cost, and what kind of work do you want to hand over. Muse is the only one with a free tier, and it is for personal errands. Dots needs a ChatGPT plan that starts at $100 a month and is built for work across your apps. Grok Bot comes with a paid Cursor or SuperGrok plan and leans towards coding.

All three launched within seven weeks of each other, and all three are the same new kind of product: an AI agent with its own computer in the cloud that keeps working after you close the app. That is why they are being compared everywhere, and why so much of what is written about them disagrees.

How this comparison is sourced: every fact below is marked as confirmed (it is on OpenAI's, Meta's or xAI's own page) or reported (it comes from news coverage and the company has not put it on a page we could check). We have not been paid by any of the three and there are no affiliate links. Prices and limits were checked on 9 October 2026 and all three products are changing fast.

ChatGPT Dots vs Muse vs Grok Bot at a glance

ChatGPT DotsMeta MuseGrok Bot
Made byOpenAIMetaxAI, with Cursor
Launched29 September 2026 (reported)8 September 2026 (confirmed)11 August 2026 (reported)
Free tierNoYes, up to 100 million tokens a weekNo
Lowest price$100 a month, Pro 100 (reported)Free; paid plans reported at $20 and $100 a month$20 a month with Cursor Pro, or $30 with SuperGrok (reported)
Where you can get itPro: not in the EEA, UK or Switzerland. Business Premium: worldwideUnited States at launchCountries not stated
Where it runsChatGPT on desktop and mobile, Slack, Microsoft Teams, phone calliOS, Android, muse.ai, WhatsAppDesktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux; iOS and Android
ModelGPT-6 AstraMuse SparkNot stated in xAI's FAQ
Best atWork across the apps your job runs onBookings, shopping, email and other errandsCoding and computer tasks, with several Bots working together

What an always-on AI agent is

A chatbot answers and stops. An always-on agent is given a job and keeps going. It has its own cloud computer and browser, signs in to the apps you connect, and comes back when the work is done or when it needs a decision from you.

In practice that means things like checking a rental site every half hour and telling you only when a new listing matches, clearing an inbox down to the messages that need you, or booking a table and adding it to your calendar. If the idea of an agent is new, our guide to the best AI automation tools explains how an agent differs from a fixed automation.

ChatGPT Dots: the most expensive way in

A dot is OpenAI's always-on agent inside ChatGPT. OpenAI describes it as an agent that "keeps work moving and asks for your input when a decision needs you". You give it a name and a look, connect the apps it may use, and talk to the same dot from ChatGPT, Slack, Microsoft Teams or a phone call.

What is confirmed

  • Plans: dots are listed for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, for Business Premium, and for Enterprise, where they are off until an administrator enables them.
  • Regions: Pro dots are for users over 18 outside the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom and Switzerland. Business Premium is rolling out worldwide.
  • Model: GPT-6 Astra.
  • Setup: you create a dot in the ChatGPT desktop app or a desktop browser. Mobile web is not supported for setup.
  • Usage: talking to your dot does not count towards your ChatGPT limits. Tasks it starts in Work or Codex do.
  • Rollout: access is gradual, so an eligible account may not see dots straight away.

What is reported

  • Price: Pro is $100, $200 or $500 a month, billed monthly. The higher tiers add usage, and the dot itself is the same.
  • Business Premium: $100 per user a month on annual billing, with a two-seat minimum for a workspace.
  • ChatGPT Plus: the $20 plan does not include a dot.
  • Extra dots: OpenAI has said more dots and faster dots will be sold later. No prices yet.

The catch: the price. If you do not already pay for ChatGPT Pro, a dot costs five times what Muse's first paid plan is reported to cost. And if you live in the UK or the EU, a personal plan will not get you one at any price.

Meta Muse: free, but only in one country

Muse is Meta's personal agent, announced on 8 September 2026. Meta's line is that "it doesn't just answer questions, it actually does the work": sending emails, booking travel, filling out forms and negotiating for you. You can reach it in its own app, on muse.ai, or as a chat in WhatsApp.

What is confirmed

  • Price: free for most core needs, with paid subscriptions for heavier use. Mark Zuckerberg put the free allowance at up to 100 million tokens per week.
  • Country: rolling out in the United States.
  • Platforms: iOS, Android, muse.ai and WhatsApp. Support for Meta's AI glasses is "coming soon".
  • Model: Muse Spark.
  • Paying for things: Muse checks out through Link by Stripe, which creates a one-time-use card so the shop never sees your real card number.
  • Ads and training: Meta says conversations and data on Muse's computer are not shared with its ad systems, and you can opt out of having your interactions used to train its models.

What is reported

  • Paid plans: Power at $20 a month and Maximum at $100 a month, with larger weekly token allowances. Meta's launch post does not list these prices.
  • Card on file: coverage says a payment card is required before a new account can start, even on the free plan.
  • More countries and devices: some guides say Canada and a Mac app were added later in September. We could not confirm either on a Meta page.

The catch: availability. Outside the United States you most likely cannot use it yet. And "free" is measured in tokens, which tells you little about how many real tasks you get before the weekly allowance runs out.

Grok Bot: bundled with plans you may already pay for

Grok Bot is xAI's version, built together with Cursor. Its Bots use what xAI calls "a persistent cloud computer, connected tools, websites, and files to complete work". The difference is that you run several of them. Each Bot can have its own job, they can pass work to each other, and a routine tells a Bot to run a task on a schedule.

What is confirmed

  • Plans: included with every paid individual Cursor plan and with Cursor Teams. You can also link a SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus or SuperGrok Heavy subscription. There is no separate Grok Bot subscription.
  • Usage: a weekly allowance, with extra usage billed by model and token cost on eligible accounts. If you have both Cursor and SuperGrok, it uses whichever allowance is larger. They do not add up.
  • Platforms: a desktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux, plus companion apps for iOS and Android.
  • One computer for all Bots: the cloud computer belongs to you, not to each Bot. Every Bot shares its files, browser sessions and logins. xAI's own advice is "Do not use separate Bots as a security boundary".

What is reported

  • Price: $20 a month through Cursor Pro, or $30 a month through SuperGrok, with higher tiers up to $300.
  • Launch: early beta on 11 August 2026, with wider plan access added later that month.
  • Allowance size: not published. Several guides make the same complaint: you find out how much you bought when it runs out.

The catch: billing you cannot plan around. The weekly allowance has no published size, and extra usage is charged by token. Check for a spending limit in your account before you leave a routine running overnight.

Real costs: the cheapest way to get each one

AgentCheapest routeWhat that buys
Meta MuseFreeUp to 100 million tokens a week
Grok BotCursor Pro, about $20 a monthA weekly allowance of unpublished size, plus pay-as-you-go
ChatGPT DotsChatGPT Pro 100, about $100 a monthOne dot, with usage shared with Work and Codex

Two things make these numbers hard to compare. Muse counts tokens, Grok Bot counts a weekly allowance it does not publish, and Dots draws on your ChatGPT plan's usage. None of the three tells you how many tasks you get.

The second is that only one price is for the agent alone. A ChatGPT Pro or Cursor subscription pays for a lot more than the agent. If you already have one of them, your real cost for a dot or a Bot is nothing extra, and that should decide the question before any feature does.

Muse vs ChatGPT: which should you use?

Most people asking this are not choosing between two agents. They are asking whether Muse can replace ChatGPT. It cannot, and it is not meant to.

  • Use ChatGPT for writing, research, learning, coding and working through a problem. The free and $20 plans cover this, and they do not include a dot.
  • Use Muse when you want a task done and not discussed: book it, buy it, reply to it, keep checking it.
  • Use both if you are in the United States. Muse's free tier costs nothing to try next to the ChatGPT plan you already have.

Grok Bot vs Muse, and Grok Bot vs Dots

Grok Bot vs Muse: Grok Bot is a work tool that lives in a desktop app and expects you to manage a small team of Bots. Muse lives on your phone and in WhatsApp and expects you to hand it one errand at a time. Pick by where your tasks are.

Grok Bot vs Dots: both are aimed at work. Dots reaches further into office tools, with Slack and Teams built in, and costs more. Grok Bot is cheaper to start and closer to code, because it shares an account with Cursor. Dots tells you which model it runs. xAI's FAQ does not.

Safety: what each one asks before it acts

An agent that can read your email and pay for things is a different kind of risk from a chatbot. All three companies describe an approval step, and they describe it differently.

  • Muse: Meta says it "checks with the person before sensitive actions like sending an email or making a purchase". A second agent called Sentinel runs beside it, and Meta states that "nothing Muse does reaches the internet unless the Sentinel approves it". You also get an audit trail of what it has done and plans to do.
  • Dots: before an action affects your accounts or shares information, a review step decides whether the dot can proceed, needs your approval, or must hand the step to you. Its research across your connected apps is read-only. OpenAI also says plainly that a dot "can make mistakes".
  • Grok Bot: sensitive actions can stop for approval, and xAI suggests "ask first" rules for sending, publishing, deleting, purchasing and changes to live systems. Passwords, two-factor codes and CAPTCHAs need you to take over the computer.

One limit applies to all three. Stopping a task does not undo what it has already done. An email that went out stays sent.

Before you connect your inbox to an AI agent

Email is the first thing every one of these agents asks for, and it is the most sensitive thing you can give. Your inbox holds password resets, receipts, bank notices and years of private conversation. A few habits lower the risk whichever agent you choose:

  1. Start with read-only access. Muse lets you allow reading without sending. Give sending rights later, once you have seen how it behaves.
  2. Keep approvals on for money and messages. Do not choose "always allow" for purchases or outgoing email in the first weeks.
  3. Read the activity log. Each product keeps one. Check it for the first few days.
  4. Turn off training if you want to. Muse and Grok Bot both have an opt-out. Grok Bot's follows your Cursor privacy settings.
  5. Register with an email address you will keep. These accounts hold a card, connected logins and an agent's memory of you. Recovery depends on that address. A temporary email is the wrong choice here. It is for one-off sign-ups you do not need again, as explained in is temporary email safe.

There is one more reason for care. An agent that reads your mail also reads whatever strangers send you. A message written to trick an AI into acting is a known attack on tools of this kind, so the habits in how to spot phishing emails now protect your agent as well as you.

Which one should you pick?

  • You are in the United States and want to try an agent for nothing: Meta Muse.
  • You already pay for Cursor or SuperGrok: Grok Bot. It is already in your plan.
  • You already pay for ChatGPT Pro, or your team is on Business Premium: Dots. It is already in your plan too.
  • You are in the UK or the EU: Muse and personal Dots are both closed to you for now. Check whether Grok Bot is offered where you live, or look at Dots through a Business Premium workspace.
  • You pay for none of them and mostly want help with writing and research: you do not need an agent yet. A normal ChatGPT plan does that job for far less.

All three are a few weeks old. Limits, prices and countries will change, so check the company's own page on the day you subscribe.

Common questions

Is Muse better than ChatGPT?

They do different jobs. Meta Muse is built to carry out personal tasks such as bookings, shopping and email, and it has a free tier. ChatGPT is the broader tool for writing, research, coding and analysis, and its own always-on agent, Dots, needs a Pro or Business Premium plan. Choose Muse to hand off errands and ChatGPT for thinking and work projects.

Is Meta Muse free?

Yes, with a limit. Meta says Muse is free for most core needs, and Mark Zuckerberg said the free allowance is up to 100 million tokens per week. Paid plans exist for heavier use. News reports put them at $20 and $100 a month, but Meta's launch post does not list prices. Reports also say a payment card is needed to start, even on the free plan.

Is ChatGPT Dots free, or included in ChatGPT Plus?

No. OpenAI lists dots for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, for Business Premium, and for Enterprise where an administrator turns them on. Free, Go and Plus do not include a dot. The lowest reported price is the $100 a month Pro plan.

Is Grok Bot free?

There is no free plan in xAI's FAQ. Grok Bot comes with every paid individual Cursor plan and with Cursor Teams, or you can link a SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus or SuperGrok Heavy subscription. Reported entry prices are $20 a month for Cursor Pro and $30 a month for SuperGrok. Some guides mention a limited trial that needs a card.

Is ChatGPT Dots available in the UK or Europe?

Not on a personal Pro plan. OpenAI says Pro dots are for users over 18 outside the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom and Switzerland. Business Premium is rolling out worldwide, so a business workspace is the route in those regions.

Which is better, Grok Bot or Muse?

Grok Bot suits coding and computer work, and it runs several Bots that pass tasks to each other. It makes most sense if you already pay for Cursor or SuperGrok. Muse suits personal errands, has a free tier and works inside WhatsApp, but it launched in the United States only.

Can these AI agents spend money or send email without asking?

All three have an approval step. Meta says Muse checks with you before sensitive actions such as sending an email or making a purchase. OpenAI says a review step decides whether a dot can proceed, needs your approval, or must hand the step to you. xAI says sensitive actions can stop for approval and suggests ask-first rules for sending, publishing, deleting and purchasing. None of them can undo an action already completed.

Sources

Best AI automation tools What is vibe coding?